12 Days of Anime: Seven Volumes of Manga

There’s nothing like the printed word and there’s certainly nothing like manga, especially shoujo manga. This year, I started to read and review more manga than I have been in the past – which is good! I love manga just as much as I love anime.

And then this anime, “Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun” popped up. My friend Renna demanded I watched it because it’s funny as hell and it’s just really so damn good. And I’m glad I did. Every character is truly a joy to watch and while I certainly do have my favorite waifu (let’s be real, Mikorin is just way too cute and adorable), everyone is lovable in their own way.

Let's be real, he's the real heroine of the series.

Let’s be real, he’s the real heroine of the series.

Most of the time, I would be like a lot of people and be annoyed at the girl trying to convince the dense guy to fall in love with her or vice-versa but that’s really not the point of the series. The series is really about the goofiness and where amazing shoujo artist and author, Nozaki-kun, gets his inspiration from.

But because of this, it really encouraged me to be open about my passion of manga. I’m already an anime nerd, figure nerd, and I’m trying to be a visual novel nerd – let my manga nerd be free! I’m starting to gather some manga to queue up for Manic Manga so you guys can start reading some reviews again. I’m mostly going to try to do it in the New Year mostly but we’ll see what happens.

On the other hand, it does make me want to start up a team of artists to try to create my own webcomic. I’m not good at drawing, since writing has always been my forte, but it’s probably for the best. My sights are trying to create a freeware video game using RPG Maker and Ren’py software. This is something I’ve been trying to do all year and it doesn’t help that I take inspiration from a silly anime such as this.

Maybe one day I’ll actually be able to finish a game and publish it. I already have so many ideas for stories and constantly coming up with new ideas for them but this isn’t really the place to wax poetic about something I’ve yet to accomplish. But back to “Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun”.

I really do anticipate any upcoming seasons if there’s any in the works. I do know there’s an OVA coming out on the 24th (Japan time) so I’m really excited about that! There’s only one type of episode that we didn’t get with the anime and that’s: the dreaded beach episode. Cannot wait!

2 comments

  1. Ahhh I want to watch this so bad!! I haven’t even seen it yet and I already ship Kashima and her sempai so hard lmao. But, I told myself I need to finish at least two of my summer anime before I start it (even though I started hxh anyway because I am trash ahahaa) so hopefully soon >3<

    1. Well, Hunter x Hunter is really long so I can cut you some slack there but oh my god, you’ll LOVE this anime. XD It’s right up your alley but the only thing is – it’s too short…

Leave a Cutie Mark

