12 Days of Anime: Five Soldiers of Love & Justice

Despite me saying a few days ago that I didn’t like the “Sailor Moon Crystal” adaptation as much as I hoped, that doesn’t change the fact that, once again, Sailor Moon made a huge impact on my life.

I don’t know how much clearer I can be with how much I love “Sailor Moon”. This series helped guide me when I was a little girl. This series guided me during my awkward years in junior high. This series got me through the abuse of so many people and institutions that words cannot express my gratitude and appreciation for it. It even comforted me during my happier and calmer times, especially.

When it was announced at the end of last year that the original English cast of “Sailor Moon” were going to make an appearance this year in Anime Expo, I knew I had to go. Absolutely no questions asked. I hauled ass before to Anime Expo to see Morning Musume. so planning a trip for one was okay but it meant the absolute world to me that Chu came with me.

And that summer was extremely memorable. We stayed with our really close friends who were kind enough to open their studio apartment with us.  Chu & I explored Little Tokyo and a little bit of K-Town. I had met my very close (but Internet) friend Carol, whom I’ve been trying to meet for the past few years. Chu and I bonded closer. I cosplayed for the first time in years.

Granted, not everything went according to plan (such as getting an autograph from the English voice actors, among other things) but I did manage to see the premiere of “Sailor Moon Crystal” where there was sense of comrade between those who are like me and grew up with “Sailor Moon” and the newbies. And I did get to go to the voice actor panel (but just barely).

Honestly, Anime Expo was a very emotional time. I cried when I saw the premiere. I cried when I was at the voice actor panel. I cried on the way to Los Angeles and I cried on the way back.

I’ve made some friends there that I hope I don’t forget about in the next year as well as strengthened some bonds. This summer for me was truly a magical experience, for better or for worse. I’m just glad that I was able to relive my childhood if only for a moment. I’m glad I’m able to hear the experiences that the voice actors had during and after their work.

I’m really so glad that “Sailor Moon” is such a huge part of my life. If it wasn’t for “Sailor Moon”, I wouldn’t be the person who I am today.

And because I’m so thankful for “Sailor Moon”, I’m starting a new project that will hopefully reflect my appreciation for the magical girl genre and why it’s so important for it to exist. I know I’m not the only one whose life changed or made a tiny bit better because of “Sailor Moon”, even if the art and animation is really bad.

TV Version vs Blu-Rays

TV Version vs Blu-Rays

4 comments

  1. Oh wow, this is my first time seeing that tv vs, blu-ray comparison. Kinda makes me wish I’d waited for the blu-ray release to watch it. I mean, I understand why the animation is crappy a lot of the time in Crystal (what with it being an internet only broadcast so no tv sponsors to help with the budget) but it would’ve been nice to have had good animation from the get-go. But who am I kidding, I love Sailor Moon too much to have waited lol

Leave a Cutie Mark

