Project Magic: Introduction!

I really love magical girl shows. And I really want to talk about it.

But where do I even start? There’s just so many different things within the genre itself to talk about. What does constitute a magical girl? Are they all really the same? What exactly are the tropes in magical girls? And why aren’t they appreciated more?

I understand that magical girl shows are for little kids (or more specifically towards little girls) but, there’s something about this genre that I keep coming back to.  Another thing that bothers me too is that, I really want to explore all the different kinds of magical girl shows that’s offered and what’s going to be offered in the future.

I love the idea of magical girls. Women, girls, those who identify as women, transforming into their true selves to beat the evil and to protect their town, loved ones – just… the initiative to protect what they love and care for.

This is something that I always admired and I always love watching but it pains me that there’s all these magical girl shows and no one is talking about them besides the big names.

So, I know you’re wondering, okay, but what the hell is Project Magic?

Well, it’s a project to watch all the magical girl anime and to talk about it. The idea is to celebrate the magical girls and to bring the more obscure series into the open.  This idea may be fruitful since there’s just so much, but I’m okay with that. I’m going to work really hard to bring some unknown and obscure anime into the lime light, whether the show themselves are good or bad.

The fact of the matter is: every magical girl is important!

Here are the guidelines I set for myself to make this work:

  • No hentai magical girl anime. Ecchi is allowed but as long as it’s not the sole focus of the show, it’s fair game.
  • No manga – strictly anime. Any magical girl manga reviews will be put under the Manic Manga category.
  • One series will be posted every two weeks on Friday.
  • I will watch the entire anime collection available (OVAs, movies, specials) unless the anime itself is already an OVA.

So yeah. That’s that. If you have any questions, feel free to ask! I’ll do my best to answer! And thank you for supporting me in this!

Leave a Cutie Mark

