30-Day Challenge: Favorite Anime Watched So Far

Day 02: Favorite Anime Watched So Far

Hm, I know I said I was going to do this on my days off but I really want to make sure that it’s evened out (because I’m neurotic like that) so when the next day off is here, I can be prepared to talk about the next day!

Anyway, for this one, it was kind of hard to think of one single anime for this entry and I wanted to be fair. But after thinking about it hard enough, I realized that I want to talk about Princess Tutu.

According to MAL:

In a fairy tale come to life, the clumsy, sweet, and gentle Ahiru (Japanese for “duck”) seems like an unlikely protagonist. In reality, Ahiru is just as magical as the talking cats and crocodiles that inhabit her town – for Ahiru really is a duck! Transformed by the mysterious Drosselmeyer into a human girl, Ahiru soon learns the reason for her existence. Using her magical egg-shaped pendent, Ahiru can transform into Princess Tutu – a beautiful and talented ballet dancer whose dances relieve the turmoil in their hearts. With her newfound ability, Ahiru accepts the challenge of collecting the lost shards of her prince’s heart, for long ago he had shattered it in order to seal an evil raven for all eternity.

Princess Tutu is a tale of heroes and their struggle against fate. Their beliefs, their feelings, and ultimately, their actions will determine whether this fairy tale can reach its “happily ever after”.

Now first of all, I love magical girl anime. I really want to try to watch as much as I can get my hands on because I just want to see the different types of magical girls there are! And they’re all so important! However, Princess Tutu really strikes me out as, well, the odd duck because:

  • This takes place in a town where fairy tales are real and ordinary. That setting alone gets my interests because, as someone who’s extremely feminine and loves the stories about princes and princesses, I would love to explore this world and all the magic it shares.
  • The protagonist is someone different. I always love stories imagined from different perspectives to kind of figure out why the other characters act the way they do. Not only that, I love the idea of a little duck becoming a human girl because she’s in love. That idea is so beautiful and magical in of itself.  Already, there’s so much magic in this series – it seems there’s a lot more layers on this than what meets the eye.
  • Instead of a typical magical girl, Ahiru turns into a ballerina. When I was younger, I’ve always wanted to become a ballerina and I wanted to go to a school so bad. Sadly, I wasn’t able to because of finances but now, through anime, I can live my dream of being a ballerina. Not only that, the idea that a ballerina can help heal the people and to help her prince? It’s so romantic and yet so sad to me…. Yet, I’m just in love with the idea.
  • The soundtrack is so beautiful. It’s such a treat to listen to the music that they chose. A lot of it is classical sounding and it matches the tone of the series – it’s a living and breathing fairy tale town.
  • Surprisingly, there’s a lot of action in this series! It starts off kind of slow but once the action starts, you pay attention.

I haven’t been watching it lately because of work and other things. I really want to have a day to sit down and watch Princess Tutu with no distractions. This anime is not just up my alley, but something that I need to immerse myself in. I really don’t need any distractions so I can watch it and explore it in my own way.

I’m really surprised this series isn’t as popular as it really should be. It has a ton of things that people would like and love: magical girls, ballerina, classical music, fairy tales… I wonder why people don’t want to watch it. It makes me sad that people could be missing out on something magical.

I hope this post convinces more people to watch Princess Tutu. Maybe it’s because I’m extremely feminine and I love magical girls, it hit me right where it needed – in my heart.

3 comments

  1. Really? I thought this was popular because I’ve read many posts/forum replies that keep mentioning this series. I initially thought that Princess Tutu is a classic/oldies anime. My bad. I just had that perception, just from the title. I’ll take note of this series. :)

    1. Man, we must hang out on different parts of the web because a lot of people say they didn’t like it (but then I’m friends with a lot of shounen and mecha fans) or they never heard of it ;;; But yay! I’m glad! I hope you’ll post a blog on what you thought of it. :D

Leave a Cutie Mark

