Review: Tomoko Kuroki from Watashi ga Motenai no wa Dou Kangaete mo Omaera ga Warui!

Finally, after days of waiting – here’s my Tomoko Kuroki nendoroid review! I’ve linked this to a couple of people on the MyFigureCollection website so I just want to make sure I stress this enough: I’m using my iPhone 4S camera so the quality on the pictures will probably not be up to par to what you’re expecting. I will talk about quality issues or issues I do have with the figure, should I have any.

If you need additional pictures, feel free to ask and I will do my best. As of now, I’m just going to post the pictures I do have (which is quite a lot) so those of you with slow connections, I really do apologize!

Okay, let’s finally get this review out of the way!

On one side of the box, you have your usual extra poses that Tomoko can do – poses that’s straight from the anime! I just have a question to those who designed her box though…

Why is her box green? I guess they were trying to make the nendoroid stand out (look at that yellow uniform she’s wearing) plus, it looks good? I don’t know… There’s some pink there but I really don’t think the green fits. Would I prefer it was in yellow? No. I wouldn’t. But eh, I guess that’s why I don’t keep the boxes out in display.

Anyway, there’s more poses~! It looks like she’s going to come with a lot of accessories!

And now the other side of the box! I’m going to have a lot of fun with her because her faces are just too hilarious! I wish they included the duck face she had in one of the episodes. I mean, after all, they have some other accessories that only made in an episode!

I suppose it’s probably best since she was kinda delayed there for a little bit.

Okay, okay, let’s open up the box already!

Anyway, here’s a list of all the accessories she should be coming with! It looks like she has a lot more tiny parts than Naegi and Mikasa combined. It’s a good thing I got that little plastic drawer sooner rather than later. I really don’t want to risk losing these!

Okay! Here’s everything she came with! Nothing seems to be missing… There were some people who had stated that the quality on the actual figure (there are claims that there are white spots on her hair). I’m a little worried so let’s get her out of there to see if I’m unlucky enough to have the same problem.

From what I could tell (I’m not sure if you can see it or not), there doesn’t seem to be any white spots on the front… She looks so happy, though, to be in a home where someone can appreciate her! Aw, Tomoko~! Don’t worry! I understand you more than anyone…

Hmm. Again, there doesn’t seem to be any white spots to me but maybe a really tiny on the middle. I could be wrong… It could just be the quality of the picture from my iPhone. The detail on her uniform and skirt are really well done but not that well done. I’d say it’s even about average. The stockings look like Tomoko needs to straighten them out but that seems actually okay. I just… hm. Something about this doesn’t seem right to me…

On another note, though, the ends of her hair are surprisingly a little sharp. So if you handle her, be careful. It doesn’t hurt too much or anything, but it could be if you’re really sensitive or if you’re intolerable to any sort of sharp pains. Naegi’s hair is sharp, but it’s not like this. It’s different with Tomoko.

Here’s a side picture of Tomoko. Like I said before, the detail on her uniform is actually kind of average – which is disappointing since Naegi and Mikasa have a little bit better detail. I love Tomoko’s expression though! She seems so curious about the new, less lonely, world around her!

But first, let’s look inside of her!

As usual, it’s clean. Nothing to worry about there.

"FV4RFJRSFIJWFOI5JYTI5J4IJIYJ"

“FV4RFJRSFIJWFOI5JYTI5J4IJIYJ”

Now, while her body isn’t very detailed, her face plates are. I love that crazed expression she has on her face! I love that they tried to make it look like from the anime, so it adds a little bit of extra humor in there, especially for possible nendoroid adventures!

wwwwwwwwww

wwwwwwwwww

And this is her… um, pleased expression. Again, I love how detailed it is and how it seems they just took a screencap off of an instance from the anime where she finds something “moe~”. Excellent. This will work in my favor as well!

Here’s another set of hair, or rather bangs, for Tomoko whenever I want to switch it out. For the default face, I can either use this or the default bangs that she came with. I can’t switch it with the other face plates without there being a gap. But first, let’s see how different each hair is without the face plates.

Default bangs.

Extra bangs.

Anyway, the problem with switching bangs with the other face plates. You see, perhaps it’s because it’s somehow made different or because there’s an extra tab for the default bangs – for some reason, it doesn’t go in all the way or there’s a gap. Here, it’s probably better to show than to explain myself:

It stays on, but barely. Here’s what Tomoko looks like with her default bangs and her crazed face plate:

It’s not a bad look; but at the same time, I’m worried that if I do switch it to this outside the apartment, I’m afraid the bangs and face plate will both pop off and I’ll lose it.

But I switched out to the extra bangs to get the authentic look:

It looks better, doesn’t it? But now, I have another problem. The extra bangs won’t slide in properly with the face plate. I’ve tried and I tried but I just get this really big and worrisome gap:

What’s going on?? Usually, I don’t have this type of problem when switching out face plates. With Naegi, sure, but that’s because he’s my first Nendoroid, of course I’m going to have a little problem with getting used to it – but this is quite a big gap. This is very worrisome for me… I really want to play with Tomoko but it looks like I have to be very careful with how I do. Again, I don’t want to risk losing her or any of her pieces in the open world.

I think she's just as worried about it as I am...

I think she’s just as worried about it as I am…

Other than those problems, she comes with extra arms (no legs and the skirt stays the same flowy way), hands, accessories, and even her backpack and headphones! So tell me again why they couldn’t include the duck face face plate. T__T

Here’s the headphones she wears! It’s kinda smooth for when I guess when you slide it on her with ease but…

It looks a little awkward when I tried to put it on her. I suppose it only looks good when it’s her default bangs? That’s no fun… It feels like you can pull it a little to fit her head but, argh, it feels so cheaply made? I feel if I go over the limit for the headphones (which doesn’t seem much), it’s going to break extremely easily. I mean, Tomoko seems to be enjoying whatever it is she’s listening to but, really, she can only hear half of what’s going on.

I’m actually kind of disappointed with this Tomoko figure. I saw the pictures and she looked good – she look damn good! And yet when I got the final product, I can’t help but feel a little disappointed. She comes with a lot of accessories, sure, and the extra bangs are great for when I want to show off her emotional face plates, and her face plates are amusing enough as it is.

But still. The gaps are worrisome, the headphones seem like it could break, the backpack is seemingly impossible to put on… I still love Tomoko and I wouldn’t trade her for the world. I just can’t help but be a little disappointed this time. I know I’m going to look past these flaws and just make sure she’s taken care of better since she doesn’t look that good.

However, like I said, I wouldn’t trade her for the world. I would only recommend her if you really want to play with her accessories and face plates (imagine all the hilarious situations you can get your other nendoroids into with the back massager!); or if you really just love Tomoko as much as I do and can see past the flaws.

"You like me! You really like me~!"

“You like me! You really like me~!”

2 comments

  1. I’ve never seen this anime but I need her for her face plates! They would just be so much fun!

    It’s pretty disappointing to hear about the figure itself though. I’m still so new to Nendoroids, so I wonder I the problems that you’re having are common with the first release of a new characters?

    1. You really should! It’s so funny but, ah, I get so embarrassed because it reminds me of my younger days. Hahaha…

      I wonder about this too but when I got Naegi and Mikasa, they were both first releases. Their qualities are pretty well so I’m not sure what happened with Tomoko. Perhaps they didn’t expect that many people to pre-order Tomoko?

Leave a Cutie Mark

